Getting out of the snack rut

A while ago, my children and I were in a big snack rut. Rice cakes and breadsticks and biscuits every day. They were so bored. So I asked one of my mummy groups on Facebook: What do you give your children for snacks? (I added that my children don’t really like vegetables at all.) And the answers were inspirational! (Or should that be inspiring?)

I’d like to pretend that since I asked the question, our snack routine has become wonderfully varied and exciting. It hasn’t. But I’m happy to have this little list up my sleeve. It ranges from healthy to not-so-healthy, but as I’m all in favour of teaching my children to enjoy all kinds of food in their proper and appropriate quantities, that’s OK with me. We won’t be eating cake or chocolate every single day in a hurry. (Note I’ve included things that seem obvious as well as more adventurous things, because, ya know, sometimes the most obvious ideas get forgotten.)

Snack Ideas for Time-Starved Mums

  • Biscuits
  • Crackers, rice cakes, corn thins, breadsticks
  • Hummus
  • Popcorn (homemade)
  • Flapjack
  • Chocolate bars
  • Cheese straws
  • Fruit bars
  • Puff pastry pin wheels
  • Jelly
  • Pitta strips
  • Fruit bread
  • Banana cake
  • Yoghurt
  • Rice krispie / cornflake cake
  • Cereal bars
  • Yoghurt pouches
  • Fruit
  • Veg sticks and dip
  • Raisins
  • Crisps
  • Tortilla wraps
  • Japanese nori sheets

Apparently it all tastes better if it is served in a little pot. Well, presentation is everything, right?!

