Stocking your Christmas stockings

Argh. It’s November already. Where has the year gone? I’m now in full Christmas prep mode. We don’t give tons of presents in our home, partly because I am allergic (ahem) to clutter, and also because we and our children already have all we need and don’t want for anything. However, we do make a big thing of Christmas because it’s the celebration of Jesus’s birth, and for us part of that celebration involves giving and receiving presents… which brings me to my point. Stockings! I absolutely adored finding a stocking stuffed full of presents at the end of my bed on Christmas morning when I was growing up. I used to wonder how my mum managed to place them there without us waking up. Now I know that children sleep through all sorts (their father searching for a board game in their room after hours, them being repositioned in the bed because they are sleeping totally sideways, and a nightly kiss on the forehead). But I digress. Though I love the tradition of stockings, I really do hate clutter. So I have had my ear to the ground for a while to get together a list of things that would make my children smile without giving fuel to my neurosis. And here it is.

Christmas Stocking Fillers That Don’t Cost the Earth or My Sanity

(Note that my children are aged 3 and 1, so this list is geared towards the toddler age range.)

  • Homemade playdough (add glitter for sparkly fun)
  • Playdough cutters / tools
  • Craft supplies – feathers, googly eyes etc.
  • Stickers
  • Homemade biscuit, iced with the recipient’s name
  • Cupcake cases
  • Chocolate coins
  • A story about the recipient, written by the giver
  • A family photo (framed or not)
  • Seeds e.g. sunflower, sweet pea
  • A small soft toy (perhaps a knitted toy, homemade or bought from a craft stall)
  • Hair clips
  • Toothbrush
  • Chocolate buttons
  • Bubbles
  • Hat, gloves, scarf (homemade if you’re that way inclined)
  • A coin for their money box
  • A tree ornament (homemade or not)
  • Audiobook
  • Pencil case
  • Skipping rope
  • Glitter shakers
  • Felt tip pens or crayons
  • A small book
  • Colouring book
  • Duplo / Lego
  • Bubble bath

Additional Ideas for Little Babies

  • Socks
  • Ball
  • Teething ring
  • Teething gel
  • Bib
  • Small sensory toy
  • Booties or soft leather shoes
