White chocolate creme patissiere

Until recently, I had never attempted to make creme patissiere. I thought it would be really difficult, and I didn’t know what to use it for. Well, let me tell you: it is very, very easy, and you can use it in so many different things.

The truth is, it does take a little concentration and time, but you need almost no skill, and the results are well worth it: smooth, silky custard which tastes so much better than plain old whipped cream in your profiteroles or shop-bought custard in your trifle.

My recipe below is for white chocolate creme patissiere, but you can omit the white chocolate and it will still taste wonderful.

I used it to fill a swiss roll and these macarons. They tasted amazing.

IMG_5634

Trust me, you will not regret making this. It is so good, I eat it off the spoon, and I don’t even care.

White chocolate creme patissiere

  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

This stuff is delicious. It can be piped into choux buns, used to fill shortcrust and puff pastry tarts and patisseries, or used in a trifle or swiss roll. The white chocolate can be omitted for a plain creme patissiere.

Ingredients

  • 300ml whole (full-fat) milk
  • 1 tsp vanilla bean paste, or the seeds from a whole vanilla pod
  • 60g caster sugar
  • 3 large egg yolks at room temperature
  • 20g flour
  • 15g cornflour
  • 100g white chocolate

Method

  1. Melt the white chocolate: microwave for 10-15 seconds, stir, then repeat until melted. Set aside to cool.
  2. Pour the milk and vanilla paste in a medium, heavy-based saucepan. Heat slowly until it comes to boiling point – small bubbles will appear round the edge of the pan. Remove from the heat.
  3. Whisk together the egg yolks and caster sugar until pale. (I use an electric whisk for this.)
  4. Mix together the flour and cornflour, then sieve over the egg and sugar mixture and whisk in.
  5. Carefully pour the hot milk in a thin, steady stream over the egg mixture, whisking all the time. (I switch to a hand whisk for this part.)
  6. Pour the mixture back into the pan. Set on the hob over a low to medium heat, and whisk constantly for about 1 minute until it thickens. It should have a smooth, custardy texture.
  7. Stir in the white chocolate until evenly mixed.
  8. Pour into a bowl, and cover with clingfilm, pressing down onto the surface of the creme patissiere. This stops a skin forming. Cool, then chill until needed. Beat with a fork or small whisk just before piping or spreading.

3 thoughts on “White chocolate creme patissiere

  1. Wow! I should try this too! My family love this and homemade is always the best!
    What if I want to make another flavor? Like Chocolate and strawberry?

    Please visit and follow my blog (www.lazymomcooking.wordpress.com) or my Instagram (lazymom_cooking) for some recipe ideas

    Like

    • If you wanted to make a chocolate creme pat, you would replace the melted white chocolate with melted dark chocolate, or perhaps you could just add some cocoa powder. I’m not sure a strawberry creme pat would work, as if you added pureed strawberries there would be too much liquid in the mix. Most strawberry tarts I have seen have a plain creme pat with chopped strawberries on top. You could also flavour your creme pat with coffee, almond essence, raspberry essence, vanilla, anything you like as long as you don’t add too much liquid! Experiment and have fun!

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.