So many last times

There are so many last times when you raise children. This week, my 3.5 year old has definitively given up napping. Although I have been prepared for this for a while, what has struck me is that I have had my last time of napping next to her. There won’t be another time when I get into her bed, next to her small form curled up, eyes closed and breathing softly, safe and cosy together. And I had no idea it would be the last time. That precious piece of raising her is finished.

There are many firsts when you are raising a child. First steps. First words. First birthday party. First day at school. First Saturday playing at a friend’s house. First sports match. First music lesson. First dance concert. First school trip. First sleepover. These are all exciting events in a child’s world, terrifying and bittersweet moments in a parent’s. But there are also so many lasts, and we just don’t know when they will happen.

There will be a last time for everything. A last time for nursing. A last time for reading a bedtime story. A last time for being woken in the night. A last cuddle. A last time for checking on them asleep in their bed. A last grazed knee. A last afternoon snack around the table. A last time for bathing them. A last time for holding their hands as they cross the road. A last time they ask you to help them do colouring. A last time they sleep in your home as their home. A last… a last…

I had a small cry over the end of naps with Sophie. It’s not that I want them to continue, or that the times the two of us slept side by side were lacking in some way, or that I don’t want my child to grow up, or that there weren’t many reasons why I sometimes had to decline her request, ‘Stay with me, mummy’. It’s that I never knew the last one would be the last one.

Parents, cherish all the moments your child gives to you. You never know when it will be the last time.

IMG_4553

