Pistachio, lemon, and rose drizzle cake

img_9441This. Oh my. So delicious. I think I excelled myself here. If I was on the Bake Off, I would have been happy with this. Oh, and they had 2 hours to make their drizzle cakes. I also made mine in about 2 hours, but my 3-year-old ‘helped’ (read: slowed me down and made a mess which I also cleaned up), and I ate breakfast and gave my children breakfast and had a shower too in that time. 😉

I hope you enjoy it!

Pistachio, lemon, and rose drizzle cake

  • Servings: 10
  • Time: 2 hours
  • Difficulty: medium
  • Print

Ingredients

For the Cake
  • 175g butter, softened to room temperature but not melted
  • 175g golden caster sugar
  • Juice and finely grated zest of 2 unwaxed lemons
  • 3 large eggs
  • 200g self-raising flour
  • 2 tbsp dried rose petals
  • 50g pistachio nuts, roughly chopped
For the drizzle
  • Juice and roughly grated zest of 2 unwaxed lemons
  • 4 tbsp caster sugar
  • 2 tsp dried rose petals
  • 1 tsp rose water
  • 2 tbsp pistachio nuts, roughly chopped

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 180C (160C fan). Grease a 900g loaf tin and line the base and two short sides with baking parchment.
  2. Cream together the butter, golden caster sugar, and lemon zest until pale and fluffy, using an electric hand whisk. Whisk in the eggs, one by one, with a tablespoon of flour for each egg to prevent curdling.
  3. Mix together the remaining flour, rose petals, and chopped pistachios. Stir gently into the creamed mixture. Add the lemon juice and fold in gently.
  4. Spoon into the tin, level, and bake for 40-45 minutes. It should be golden and a skewer should come out clean when inserted into the middle of the cake.
  5. In the meantime, make the drizzle. Mix all the drizzle ingredients except the zest in a small saucepan. Heat until the sugar has dissolved, then leave to cool slightly. Pour through a sieve and into a jug. Reserve the pistachios and rose petals collected in the sieve.
  6. Five minutes after removing the cake from the oven, use a cocktail stick to make holes all over it. Carefully pour over the drizzle syrup, making sure the whole cake gets covered.
  7. Once cool, use the pistachios and rose petals you collected earlier, along with the lemon zest, to garnish the cake.

dsc_0122

3 thoughts on “Pistachio, lemon, and rose drizzle cake

Comments are closed.