On heavy, tearful, and anxious days

My soul is dark today. I could put my finger on a few things that are making me feel this way, but the envelope of darkness is far more potent than those things would merit.

I’m tearful and anxious. I can’t concentrate. My mind wanders to sad things, obsesses over unreal things, feels heavy. My head feels heavy.

Sometimes, there is no reason to feel the way we feel.

What lightness can be found?

Do not be afraid, for I am with you.

Genesis 26:24

And

Therefore the Lord himself will give you a sign: The virgin will conceive and give birth to a son, and will call him Immanuel.

Isaiah 7:14

And

So do not fear, for I am with you;
do not be dismayed, for I am your God.
I will strengthen you and help you,
I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.’

Isaiah 41:10

And

And surely I am with you always, to the very end of the age.

Matthew 28:20

And

I heard a loud voice from the throne saying, “Look! God’s dwelling place is now among the people, and he will dwell with them. They will be his people, and God himself will be with them and be their God.”

Revelation 21:3

Throughout the whole of His Word, there is God’s reassurance that He is with us.

‘I am with you.’

‘God with us.’

In the past, now, and forever.

The eternal God is your dwelling place, and underneath are the everlasting arms.

Deuteronomy 33:27

This heaviness, it lays me low. His Word, His grace, His love, they lift me up.

